Following blogs

I just read a post of someone asking why people follow blogs if they never comment or like anything on that blog. So I gave it some thought and this is what I think.
I started this blog not so long ago on the urging of some friends. Of course, when you start a blog, you would like someone to read it, right? Although some say they write for themselves, I still believe everyone wants their voice to be heard. So my friends were kind enough to start following my blog because that’s what friends do. I went and followed their blogs too. Then, I started the free WordPress course and through there I started following some blogs and people started to follow mine. I always felt that if they were nice enough to follow me I should follow them back. But here is the problem. Some of those blogs are about things that do not interest me, like crafts and recipes. Me and the kitchen and creativity are sworn enemies. But I feel ungrateful to unfollow them so if I continue to follow them I will probably not really go and read their posts. I probably have such followers too. But actually, however nice it is to see that you have 500 followers or more, what’s the use of such a big number if most of them aren’t actually interested in what you have to write? I actually prefer people who follow my blog if they really want to read what I have to say, and not just because of a “follow me” thread on Facebook or just to get a follow back. I think it’s better to have a small but loyal following so that they will comment on your stuff and interact. It’s the same on Facebook. You can ask people to like your pages and they probably will and then promptly forget they ever liked it. But what’s the use then? It’s nice to see 1000 “likes” on your page but if not a single person is actually reading or interacting, you don’t really have 1000 people interested in your content, do you? I do believe in supporting my friends and have liked their FB pages even though some of them weren’t my cup of tea but that’s what friends are for.

I understand the need for following as many blogs as possible in the beginning as that will help with your connections and help your blog grow and I probably did that too but now, I think I’ll stick to following the blogs I really want to read and hopefully build a relationship with the writers and hope that the ones sticking with me are interested in reading what I have to write.

I am interested in hearing your take on the subject!

38 thoughts on “Following blogs”

  1. I think in some ways, following other blogs is a form of networking. I “like” some of the blogs I check out, but follow ones that work well with my blog, are interesting to me personally or a bit of both really. It is a good way to cross blog with others. I look at many of the posts and check out some more experienced bloggers in the Reader to look for ways to improve my site or my writing style. You have a good number of followers, so you must be on the right track!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚ I hope they like what I write πŸ˜‰ You are right that it’s networking so that’s why I followed quite a few in the beginning but by now I think I will go and follow only the blogs that I truly want to read. Thanks for reading πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I kinda think the same way. One of the reasons why I follow blogs that may not be of interest is because I could learn something new. Even, with that, I do agree its important to have a quality following, not just the quantity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve made a valid point.
    I too follow the blogs of my friends, well the ones who’ve let me know about their blogs anyway. Some of those blogs I read pretty regularly, I should comment more though, and others not so much simply due to lack of interest but hey they’re my friends.

    As for blogs of people I don’t know, I’ll follow them if their content interests me. I do go and read some of the recommended blogs and I’ve found a few that I’m interested in, those are the ones I’ll follow.

    If I see that someone is following my flog and commenting on my posts I will probably go read their blog to see where the commonality is that keeps them coming back.

    Thanks for sharing this subject it is something I had not really considered before.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I follow a lot of blogs and as they come up on my reader I don’t always read, but I have a good selection to choose from. If the title or picture catches my eye, I usually give it a look! Nice sunflower! πŸ˜‰ ~Elle

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I get what you’re saying, when I started a few months ago I liked every blog who liked me, and the reader is full of stuff, however I do try and read whatever I can! Yes there are some that I wonder why I liked, but hey, I try n be more choosy now and I do try and like if not comment when I have read things, so they are not block liking, for the sake of it!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Though anything lengthy or stories take me a while, poems can be a 5-10 minute thing!
        I rhyme as I talk to the kids at school too sometimes… Just can’t help it! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Is it strange that I have not publicized to friends and family that I blog? I suppose I will sometime. Ironically I began blogging to make my tutorials available for my students. Now I am thinking about just printing and handing them out instead. I kind of like the privacy. And I’ll be okay when word gets out but I’m not telling for now. So in response to your post (which I am flattered to have prompted, though of course, it was inside you waiting to get out), in response, I quote what I wrote in my blogging 101 who I am post–“My focus is not on having lots of followers, but on having lots of interested readers and interesting writers to follow, encourage, and engage with.”

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I think if we are honest, we ask people to follow us for a couple of reasons; 1) we truly enjoy putting our words and thoughts out there for the world to read 2) to get sponsors to notice us so they send us more things that relate to our blogs. This can provide income or just sources for more posts in your chosen area. Neither of these are right or wrong or even necessary to choose one. I think following a blog is a good networking tool and even though the content is not something you are particularly interested in (i.e., me and mom bloggers of little ones-my kiddos are grown) you can still learn something. A new way to do photography, design layout, even an idea that may come to me on how their post does relate to me. The best part is I use “feedly” as my reader and that allows me to group my blogs into categories. On days where I have plenty of time to peruse the blogs I can slowly scroll through each category I defined and on days that my time is limited, I can just mark the categories that I don’t find much interest in as read so it’s not cluttering up my feed (i.e. my shopping/coupon category. it can get out of control quickly and not something that 2 days from might even be relevant any longer as sales are often that day only). I hope this all makes sense but I think the most important reason, for me anyways, is to support other bloggers. I think we should look beyond competing and just support each other more and following blogs in my reader is a small way that I can offer my support to bloggers no matter what their topic may be. To that effect I should be better about commenting on blogs and also, sorry this turned out so “wordy”. LOVE the sunflowers too!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow! I could learn so much from you….haven’t a clue how you can make money from blogging and never heard of feedly. Is that something offered here in WP? It is such a great idea I would like to explore. Very interesting. Tx. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I have had the same feelings. I have followed blogs because they start following mine or clicked the like button. However, I do not have time getting back to read their blogs. Probably, the blogs do not interest me to do so. I am seriously thinking about who I follow and allow posts to hit my email account. The exercise becomes a wastes of time. My topic is difficult for people to openly and honestly respond to a post. Thanks for your comments. I agree with you whole heartily.
    Dale

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I read, comment and follow what I want. I still do believe if someone has taken the time to like one of my blog post I connect with theirs as well. Some weren’t what I was expecting and still I follow them because I love learning. Some fellow bloggers have become amazing friends to me. So we read, connect, like, and support one another. That’s what I love about the blogging community it’s like my magazine and I can read each section that I want. Great topic my sweet Sunflower, I enjoyed reading your prospective. πŸ˜ƒβ€οΈπŸŒ»

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I agree. This is why I never got involved with Share Trains or S4S’s on my FB page. I love the days we share each other’s FB pages because they are my friends and I’m theirs. I follow blogs that interest me. I do follow some that I Liked because they Liked mine but unless they are a friend or their blog interests me, I will follow them for a month or so and if nothing at all is appealing to me, I don’t follow anymore. It’s true what you said, you want people who like you, your content. I’ll keep following someone even if they aren’t up my alley unless they are just way too far removed from my interests.

    Good post!! Thanks ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Agreed, empty ‘likes’ and followers who don’t click through are no indication of much, commenter’s are! On the flip – I think its nice to still have ‘likes’ on the posts – sometimes there isn’t too much input or feedback so I ‘like’ it if I really liked it but don’t necessarily have anything to add or say. I don’t like to fill up comments with ‘nice post’ ‘agreed’ and other trivial space hogging comments so I ‘like’ in those cases so the author knows I am still reading. If someone already said what I wanted to say I just clink ‘like’ the post and comment. So the author knows I am still reading! I just rambled. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Loved this post! This topic has been on my mind for a while now. The first person to follow my blog has a travel blog. Those don’t interest me so I didn’t reciprocate but I did like. Then I was nominated for a Liebster. As part of that, you have to find more blogs to nominate. That felt weird because most that fit the criteria I had never seen before or I wasn’t following or they didn’t appeal to me. After six weeks of blogging, I have maybe 25 followers. And it’s okay. I would rather have sincere followers and be one than to have high stats. Meanwhile, I will like and comment. That’s my idea of networking.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I get exactly what you’re saying. I, too, started following a lot of blogs right at first. Mainly to get to know people who were in the B101 class. But over the course of the month it became apparently which ones I shared common interests with. So I started eliminating folks from my blogroll. Do I feel bad about it? Sometimes, but I also know I have only a limited amount of time to spend on here and I’d rather being doing that supporting people I’m really connecting with. I do, however, try to go on Reader and check out a handful of new blogs a week. I don’t commit to following them, but I do find some good things to write about, and I ALWAYS leave a comment. You just have to find the way to do things that’s not only profitable emotionally to you, but economical as well. If that makes any sense… This was a terrific post, btw.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Great post. I feel exactly the same. I started my blog a week ago, and I’m searching for new followers. Of course, as you said, it’s always better when you have a real follower, but I think that’s difficult in the beginning, you want your blog growing and the only way to do it is follow other blogs. I try to read a lot of posts to understand if its a blog that interests me.
    Btw, I’m glad if you could see my blog πŸ™‚
    https://virtualtravelersblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments so please tell me what you think!

