What you can do to make a blogger happy.

If you’re like me, you probably have many fellow blogger friends. You connected on Facebook and Twitter. They’re all bloggers so you come across their posts all the time. It gets overwhelming keeping up with everyone’s posts so you pick and choose which ones to read. You try to read from the ones who always support you, then you squeeze in those posts whose titles sound interesting. You read and then continue scrolling.

I, like everyone else put effort into those posts. We write things from the heart, words that are sometimes private, Β at other times we strive to be funny. We all want our blog posts read. We want to know if we made a difference or if we got a chuckle out of you or if we taught you something new.

When I write a new post, I try to promote as much as possible. I post it on my Facebook wall and in Facebook groups and on Twitter. I’m hoping at least some of my friends will click on the link and read it. I get a few likes but a like doesn’t tell me much. Did she like the post? Did she click on the link? Is she just liking it to show me she has seen it in her newsfeed? Has she read it? So many questions.


I appreciate it so much when someone takes the time to type “read it” or some kind of comment on the blog or Facebook post that shows me they have taken the time to click on the link and read what I have written.

If you take the time to click on a link, why not leave a comment? Just a simple “read it” can make such a difference to a bloggers morale. I don’t know about you but I get discouraged if I think no one reads what I write. I know some bloggers enjoy writing for themselves and it’s therapeutic and it’s like their diary and so on but not me. I WANT people to read what I write. I was never one for a diary.

Whenever I click on a link, I always try to write a small comment so the blogger knows I was there and read it. If I have nothing to say, I like the post on the blog so I make it known that I did read it. A “like” on Facebook doesn’t always mean “I read it”.

Make no mistake, this is not a post how I think all my FB friends HAVE to read all my posts. They don’t. What I do want is to know when you read it. Let me know! I’m one of those small bloggers (think 10-20 views per post) so anyone who reads it makes me so happy. To those who will say how time consuming it is to always comment I say “If you already clicked on the link, read it till the end, it just takes one more minute to type a little comment”

To me, every comment is worth gold, so much appreciated. Now, as I end this post, please leave me a comment so I know you read it!

46 thoughts on “What you can do to make a blogger happy.”

  1. You’re so right, but speaking for myself, sometimes I have no time at all but still I read something and then like the post promising myself I will comment but then I forget lol πŸ™‚ so it’s not always a bad thing if they don’t comment πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I sooo agree! I constantly check to see if anyone is reading or liking. Comments are gold. They make my day! I also love seeing the different countries that readers come from – I feel so global : )

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You’re so right! It means so much to me when someone comments on a post I’ve taken so much time and energy to write! We give up our kids’ nap times and evenings to put our posts together and to learn how to perfect our craft. Thank you for writing these heartfelt words, I appreciate your vulnerability!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like when a post from a friend comes through my feed often I open it in a new window and get back to it later, sometimes it slips. When one touches me, makes me think, or feel I try and comment. However, if I don’t have something nice to say I will be quiet. It may be I didn’t connect with it or I simply didn’t agree. That said, I have never had that with your post, they are always interesting and make me think. I will try to comment more. I know the feeling I wish more people would comment on mine even a ❀ here and there makes me feel awesome and encourages me to keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wish I had extra time every day to be able to comment on all the posts I read… But sometimes it is just not possible! If something strikes a real chord, I will comment, but my like means I have read it. You can tell when I am on holiday, as my comments go way up!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I also belong to small bloggers and can’t explain how happy it makes me when other bloggers leave a comment on my posts πŸ™‚ As you said, it genuinely doesn’t take much time, but truly means a lot πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I barely try to comment on the posts i read, because so many times i have written a comment and then had to ‘log in’ or ‘register’ to post the comment. I don’t want to sign up to everyone’s blog, i don’t like to give my email address to anyone who writes well, so i just don’t write anymore.
    But i did read this – it’s a great post! Thanks!
    I like your blog – just followed a ‘soferet’ google-groups link to it and i think i will be back…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey you– you’re really spot on with this. I’ve noticed that my comments have gone way down but my stats are way up — so all I can think is that because I’ve had a few difficult months and tapered back on reading/commenting, people are now unlikely to make the effort (no matter how small,) to leave evidence of their visits, even though I can tell they’re reading! You really do get out of this what you put in. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. very true nad very accurate description of the nature of a writer. i think we all like that, which makes me worry that WordPress is a God created entity to unite creative (or semi) people with low self-esteem πŸ˜‰ thanks for honest and great post

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments so please tell me what you think!

