The Hasidic way of dating and marriage (in honor of Valentine)

As it’s Valentine’s day today, I thought I’d reshare this popular post about my engagement 🙂
Happy Valentine’s day!

Orthodoxsunflower

As Valentine’s day approaches, I was thinking it’s a good time to tell you how my shidduch (a date or match, often leading to marriage. The matching up of a man and a woman for purposes of marriage) went. In the non Jewish world, ours is what you would call an arranged marriage. I dislike that word though because in my mind, that equals a “forced” marriage. And mine, like most others in my community was anything but. At any time you have the option of saying no.

As a girl turns 18, it gives matchmakers a green light to start calling the parents. I belong to a certain Hasidic sect so the suggestions were all going to be eligible young men from the same sect. So, as I turned 18, the phones started ringing with suggestions. If a suggestion sounded promising, my parents went ahead and made many inquiries…

View original post 951 more words

2 thoughts on “The Hasidic way of dating and marriage (in honor of Valentine)”

  1. Hello, I just wanted to say that I stumbled upon your blog and am really enjoying your posts! Please don’t stop writing! I would really like to learn more about ultra-Orthodox Jewish culture, but I am a bit shy to befriend anyone as I am a revert Muslim lady and I think maybe people wouldn’t like that. If you would be interested in talking to me about faith, life and culture could you please write me 🙂 Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments so please tell me what you think!

